Skip to main content

College of Engineering blog

WiscWind team members at 2022 Collegiate Wind Competition

UW–Madison team advances to finals in 2023 wind competition

A group of students from the University of Wisconsin–Madison will again compete in the nation’s most prominent undergraduate-level wind energy competition for the eighth consecutive year. UW–Madison’s team, known as…

Read the Article

March 10, 2023

Solis provides solace for students studying plasma physics

Solis is a student-led group where women and gender minorities in plasma physics at UW-Madison can find a sense of community. Plasma physics is a broad research field that spans…

March 7, 2023

Graduate student gains international perspective on nuclear engineering

Ryan Dailey, a graduate student in the Reactor Technology Integration Group led by Assistant Professor Ben Lindley, attended the 2023 Nuclear Innovator Cultivation Camp (NICC) hosted by Tokyo Tech and…

UW Crest with engineering background
January 6, 2023

Department of Engineering Physics to focus on core programs of nuclear engineering and engineering physics

Exciting changes are coming to the Department of Engineering Physics at UW-Madison! The department has a long history of a strong Nuclear Engineering program, contributing to the existing fleet of…

December 19, 2022

Explore Nuclear Engineering and Engineering Physics faculty advisors and research

The Department of Engineering Physics at the University of Wisconsin-Madison is home to the Nuclear Engineering and Engineering Physics (NEEP) graduate program. For an overview of department research focus areas,…

December 19, 2022

Explore Engineering Mechanics faculty advisors and research

The University of Wisconsin-Madison Engineering Mechanics (EM) program will be joining the Department of Mechanical Engineering in 2023 to benefit from consolidation of expertise in the discipline. Students will continue…

UW Crest with engineering background
December 12, 2022

Strzelec named SAE Fellow

Andrea Strzelec, director of the Master of Engineering in Engine Systems (MEES) and Polymer Engineering (MEPE) programs in the University of Wisconsin-Madison College of Engineering, has been selected as a…

UW Crest with engineering background
November 29, 2022

PhD student Claire Griesbach receives DOE Graduate Student Research Award to make nuclear fuel particles more resilient

In the United States, nuclear energy accounts for about half of the country’s energy generation from sources other than fossil fuels, and about 19% of all energy generation, according to…

An image of Bernardo Luiz Rocha Ribeiro
November 11, 2022

Graduate student receives Grainger Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship

Engineering mechanics PhD candidate Bernardo Luiz Rocha Ribeiro received a prestigious Grainger Fellowship for graduate researchers. Ribeiro received his undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering from the Federal Fluminense University in…

November 7, 2022

Student receives inaugural Mary Baker Scholarship Award

Oona Kummert, an undergraduate senior studying Engineering Mechanics and Aerospace (EMA), received the inaugural Mary Baker Scholarship award in 2022.

UW Crest with engineering background
November 2, 2022

Award-winning alumni return to campus for 75th Engineers’ Day

The University of Wisconsin-Madison will mark its 75th Engineers’ Day on November 4, 2022, by honoring 14 accomplished and inspiring alumni from a wide array of industries. The annual celebration…