Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

ECE Distinguished Speaker Seminar Series

March 24, 2022 @ 10:00 AM 11:00 AM

Vijay Vittal
Regents Professor, Ira A. Fulton Chair Professor, Foundation Professor in Electric Power Systems, Arizona State University

Electricity and Water Do Mix: Interdependent Electric and Water Infrastructure Modeling, Optimization and Control

UW-Madison Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering presents 2022 Distinguished Speaker, Vijay Vittal of Arizona State University.  Professor Vittal will present Electricity and Water Do Mix: Interdependent Electric and Water Infrastructure Modeling, Optimization and Control.  The virtual seminar will be held Thursday, March 24th at 10am Central.


The phrase water-energy nexus is commonly used to describe the inherent and critical interdependencies between the electric power system (EPS) and the water distribution system (WDS). In this presentation, the analytical framework capturing the interactions between these two critical infrastructures is examined, and a mathematical model to describe the associated dynamics is developed. Based on the time-scale of these associated dynamics, the EPS simulation is conducted using time-series power flows following unit commitment and optimal power flow solutions. The WDS control optimization-simulation model formulated here is solved using a genetic algorithm solution technique interfaced with EPANET. An integrated simulation engine of the interdependent infrastructure systems was created to conduct long-term simulations. The simulation engine was applied using representative WDS and EPS networks. The implemented control optimization benefits both systems by reducing the effect of severe contingencies. The results of the simulations conducted prove the applicability of the proposed methodology for long–term, water-energy nexus contingency simulations having both power outages and droughts.


Vijay Vittal received the B.E. degree from the B.M.S. College of Engineering, Bangalore, India, in 1977; the M.Tech. degree from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India, in 1979; and the Ph.D. degree from Iowa State University, Ames, in 1982 all in electrical engineering.

In 2005 he joined Arizona State University where he is a Regents’ Professor, the Ira A. Fulton Chair Professor, and the ASU Foundation Professor in Power Systems Engineering at the School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering. From 1982 – 2004 he served as a faculty member at Iowa State University. He joined the Faculty of the School of Electrical & Computer Engineering at Iowa State University in 1982, he was promoted to the rank of associate professor in 1986, and to the rank of professor in 1990. In 1999 he was appointed as the Harpole Endowed Professor and in 2003 became an Anson Marston Distinguished Professor.

His research interests are in power system dynamics, dynamic security assessment of power systems, power system operation and control, renewable resource integration, and application of robust control techniques to power systems. He is the author and co-author of several papers in his field. In 1992, he co-authored the textbook entitled Power System Transient Stability Assessment Using the Transient Energy Function Method with A. A. Fouad; in 1999, he co-authored the textbook entitled Power System Analysis with A. R. Bergen; in 2012, he co-authored the textbook entitled Grid Integration and Dynamic Impact of Wind Energy with Raja Ayyanar; in 2014, he co-authored the textbook entitled Application of Time-Synchronized Measurements in Power System Transmission Networks with Mladen Kezunovic, Sakis Meliopoulos and Vaithianathan Venkatasubramanian; and in 2019, he co-authored the book Power System Control and Stability 3rd Edition with J.D. McCalley, previously co-authored by P.M. Anderson and A. A. Fouad.

During 1993-1994 he was the Program Director of the Power Systems Program at the U. S. National Science Foundation. In 2003, he was elected to the U.S. National Academy of Engineering in 2004. From 2005-2011, he served as the Editor in Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Power Systems. In 2013, he was awarded the IEEE Herman Halperin T&D Field Award. In 2018, he received the Utility Variable-Generation Integration Group (UVIG) Achievement Award and the IEEE Power and Energy Society Prabha S. Kundur Power System Dynamics and Control Award. In 2019, he was awarded the IEEE Power and Energy Society Prize Paper Award. In 2021, he was the recipient of the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, Distinguished Alumnus Award.

From 2005-2020, Dr. Vittal served as the Director of the Power System Engineering Research Center, a Phase III National Science Foundation, Industry/University Collaborative Research Center consisting of 12-member universities and 30 industry members.