Skip to main content
Photo of Laura Albert
November 24, 2020

Albert elected AAAS Fellow

Written By: Staff


Laura Albert, a professor of industrial and systems engineering, is one of six University of Wisconsin-Madison faculty members to be elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Albert, who is also a Harvey D. Spangler Faculty Scholar, earned the honor for her distinguished contributions to the application of operations research methodologies to public policy, and for communicating her research to the public. Through her operations research, she applies optimization approaches to challenges in critical public sector infrastructure, such as homeland security, emergency response and cybersecurity.

The honor, dating back to 1874, is bestowed annually on members of AAAS who are nominated by their peers and recognized for their efforts to advance science and society. This year, 489 scholars were named AAAS Fellows. Each is expected to maintain the highest standards of scientific integrity and professional ethics.

In addition to Albert, UW’s Madison’s honorees are: R. Alta Charo, Warren P. Knowles Professor of Law and Bioethics; Patricia Kiley, professor and chair of biomolecular sciences; William Reznikoff (emeritus; now at Marine Biological Laboratory), Evelyn Mercer Professor of Biochemistry; William Tracy, professor of agronomy; and Ellen Zweibel, W.L Kraushaar Professor of Astronomy and Physics.

The new fellows will be formally announced in the journal Science on Nov. 27, 2020, and on Feb. 13, 2021, they will be inducted during a virtual Fellows Forum ceremony.