Skip to main content
May 6, 2024

ECE student leaders and faculty recognized for excellence by WESC

Written By: Allyson Crowley

Wisconsin Engineering Student Council (WESC) held an end-of-year celebration and awards ceremony on April 29th. The council celebrated engineering student organizations, as well as their student and faculty leaders. The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) was well-represented during the evening, and members of the department took home several prizes.

ECE Graduate Student Association (GSA), which provides social engagement, support, and professional development for all graduate students, was honored in many areas.
Exceptional Team Development – Finalist
Member Development Event – Finalist
First Year Engagement Event – Finalist

Women in Electrical and Computer Engineering (WECE), a student-led group that became an official student organization this year, was honored as the winner of the First Year Engagement Event. The group hosted a very successful Ladies Night where students could meet other ECE students and sign up for their mentorship program. The representatives from WECE who accepted the engagement award were third-year electrical engineering student Francesca Sofia Cicmil, third-year computer engineering student and WECE President Abby Rokus, and graduating senior in computer engineering and WECE Operations Director, Taylor Joy Edwards.

Several individuals from the department were recognized as well:

ECE Professor Jennifer Choy, faculty advisor for UW–Madison’s chapter of American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) was a finalist for Outstanding Student Organization Advisor.

Tessa Haldes, PhD student and former GSA President (2022-2023), won the award for Outstanding Student Organization Member.

ECE PhD student and current GSA President Tanuj Kumar was a finalist for Outstanding Student Leader.

Lydia Malen, a second-year computer engineering student, won the award for Outstanding Student Organization Leader for her work as Vice President of Inclusion, Equity, and Diversity for the Society of Women Engineers where she created more conversation-based events centered around mental health this past year.

Taylor Edwards, Francesca Sofia Cicmil, Abby Rokus
Tessa Haldes, Lydia Malen, Tanuj Kumar, Jennifer Choy
Left to Right Back Row: Taylor Edwards, Francesca Sofia Cicmil, Abby Rokus, Ujwal Ravichandra (GSA Public Relations), Tessa Haldes, Lydia Malen
Left to Right Front Row: Assistant Professor Jennifer Choy, Tanuj Kumar