Skip to main content
Photo of Chang-Beom Eom
November 28, 2018

Eom named AAAS Fellow

Written By: Staff


The American Association for the Advancement of Science has elected Materials Science and Engineering Professor Chang-Beom Eom as an AAAS Fellow.

He is among among 416 fellows recognized for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

Eom, Raymond R. Holton Chair Professor in Engineering and Theodore H. Geballe Professor of materials science and engineering, was cited for pioneering contributions to the heteroepitaxy of complex oxide films, including the development of 90° off-axis sputtering, conducting oxides and strain-engineering to enable oxide electronics.

AAAS, the world’s largest general scientific society, has elected distinguished members as fellows since 1874. This year’s fellows will be honored at the organization’s annual meeting on Feb. 16, 2019, in Washington, D.C.