Skip to main content
Darryl Thelen and Kate Fu at ME fall 2022 investiture
October 20, 2022

Recognizing exceptional Mechanical Engineering faculty

Written By: Caitlin Scott



Mechanical Engineering highlighted faculty excellence with an investiture ceremony at the end of September.

John Bollinger Chair of Mechanical Engineering & Bernard A. and Frances M. Weideman Professor Darryl Thelen welcomed the twelve faculty honorees, and colleagues, staff, friends, and family to the ceremony and reception in recognition of their scholarly and educational achievements. Executive Associate Dean and Arthur F. Hawnn Professor David A. Noyce and Associate Dean for Advancement Cathleen Walters joined the festivities on behalf of the College of Engineering.

Learn about each honoree’s research and teaching interests in the Fall 2022 investiture program.

Peter Adamczyk
Mead Witter Foundation Professorship

Mark Anderson
Consolidated Papers Professorship

Krishnan Suresh
Mead Witter Foundation Professorship

Lih-Sheng (Tom) Turng
Consolidated Papers Professorship

Christian Franck
Bjorn Borgen Professorship

Kate Fu
Jay and Cynthia Ihlenfeld Professorship

Sage Kokjohn
Jean and Phil Myers Professorship

Dan Negrut
Bernard A. & Frances M. Weideman Professorship

Greg Nellis
William A. and Irene Ouweneel-Bascom Professorship

Tim Osswald
Kuo and Cindy Wang Professorship

Xiaoping Qian
Elmer R. and Janet A. Kaiser Professorship

Dave Rothamer
Robert Lorenz Professorship

In addition to the named professorships, Prof. Thelen also recognized four ME faculty who were recently promoted. Congratulations to Associate Professor Lianyi Chen, Associate Professor Wenxiao Pan, Associate Professor Alejandro Roldán-Alzate, and Full Professor Mario Trujillo.

Thank you to all for the work you do each day with your students and your research that makes the Department of Mechanical Engineering exceptional.

Thelen and Negrut at ME investiture
Darryl Thelen and Dan Negrut
ME investiture
Scott Sanders and Peter Adamczyk
Xiaoping Qian at ME investiture
Xiaoping Qian
ME investiture
Ying Li and department guest Dr. Ameet Aiyangar
Thelen Franck and Noyce at investiture
Darryl Thelen, Christian Franck, and David Noyce
Faculty and family at ME investiture
Colleagues and family at the reception
Krishnan Suresh at ME investiture
Krishnan Suresh
Mark Anderson at ME investitures
Mark Anderson
Greg Nellis at ME investiture
Greg Nellis
Sage Kokjohn at ME investiture
Sage Kokjohn
ME investiture
Lih-Sheng Turng and John Pfotenhauer
ME investiture
Tim Osswald and Alejandro Roldán-Alzate

Featured image: Darryl Thelen with Jay and Cynthia Ihlenfeld Associate Professor Kate Fu