Skip to main content
Izabela Szlufarska, MS&E Department Chair
February 8, 2023

Szlufarska awarded TMS Brimacombe Medal

Written By: Jason Daley


Izabela Szlufarska, the Harvey D. Spangler Professor of Engineering and Chair of the Department of Materials Science & Engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, has been named a 2023 Brimacombe Medalist by TMS, The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society.

Izabela Szlufarska, MS&E Department Chair

The mid-career award recognizes individuals with sustained excellence and achievement in business, technology, education, public policy or science related to materials science and engineering and with a record of continuing service to the profession.

Szlufarska is just one of seven recipients of the medal this year. She was cited for fundamental breakthroughs bridging the gap between atomistic simulations and nanoscale experiments, as well service leadership in research directions, information dissemination and materials education.

“I am deeply honored to receive the TMS Brimacombe Medalist Award,” says Szlufarska. “I look forward to being part of TMS’s far reaching and impactful work for many years to come.”

The formal presentation of the award will take place during the TMS 2023 Annual Meeting in San Diego, California, in March, 2023.