Skip to main content
Christopher Brace, Krishanu Saha and Susan Hagness
February 18, 2022

Brace, Hagness, Saha elected AIMBE Fellows

Three more faculty members from the University of Wisconsin-Madison College of Engineering have earned election to the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) College of Fellows.

Christopher Brace and Krishanu Saha, associate professors of biomedical engineering, and Susan Hagness, Philip Dunham Reed Professor and chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, are among the 2022 class of inductees. AIMBE Fellows are considered to represent the top 2% of medical and biological engineers in the United States, receiving the distinction for outstanding teaching, research and innovation.

Brace, who previously served as the College of Engineering’s Assistant Dean for Graduate Affairs, is being recognized for his work improving research mentor training, as well as his translational research developing and disseminating microwave ablation devices and techniques for clinical audiences. He is also a faculty member in the School of Medicine and Public Health’s Department of Radiology.

Saha, who’s also a faculty member with the Wisconsin Institute for Discovery, is a leader in developing cell and gene therapies at the intersection of stem cell bioengineering, genome editing and ethics.

Hagness, who was also recently elected to the 2021 class of fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, has made pioneering contributions to diagnostic and therapeutic applications of microwave interactions with human tissue.

The trio will be formally inducted March 25 during AIMBE’s 2022 Annual Event.

Brace and Saha’s induction means the Department of Biomedical Engineering now counts 14 AIMBE Fellows among its faculty.

Marina Emborg, a UW-Madison professor of medical physics who’s collaborating with Saha and Vilas Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering Shaoqin “Sarah” Gong to develop a unique nanocapsule gene editing delivery system, also earned induction. Seungpyo Hong, a professor of pharmacy, and Timothy Hall, a professor of medical physics, were UW-Madison’s other honorees.