Skip to main content
October 22, 2019

Chang-Beom Eom earns APS Adler lectureship award

Written By: Cassandra Bocchieri


 Chang-Beom Eom
Chang-Beom Eom

The American Physical Society has recognized Chang-Beom Eom, the Raymond R. Holton Chair Professor and Theodore H. Geballe Professor of materials science and engineering, with its 2020 David Adler Lectureship Award in the Field of Materials Physics. The American Physical Society has awarded the lectureship annually since 1988. The recipient is recognized as an outstanding contributor to the field of materials physics and someone noted for the quality of his or her research, review articles and lecturing.

Eom, whose many honors include election as fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, specializes in nanostructure fabrications of novel materials and hetroepitaxy of complex thin films and heterostructure. He is a world-renowned expert in his field; among his recent work is collaboration with Materials Science and Engineering Assistant Professor and Grainger Institute for Engineering Fellow Jiamian Hu on developing a theoretical basis for a drug delivery system that uses the power of magnets to release therapeutic molecules at the time they are needed.

The lectureship consists of an honorarium and certificate. Eom is cited with pioneering research and insightful lectures that demonstrate how the epitaxy can be used to manipulate the structure of materials to greatly enhance their properties and enable oxide electronics.