Skip to main content
UW Crest with engineering background
January 6, 2023

Engineering Mechanics moves to Department of Mechanical Engineering

Written By: Caitlin Scott



We are excited to share that the Engineering Mechanics program is moving to the Department of Mechanical Engineering (ME). The College of Engineering has a long history of strong Engineering Mechanics programs, which was until recently housed in the nuclear engineering and engineering physics Department. The move into ME aligns with our peers and industry standards, while also expanding research and educational opportunities for students.

As a first step, the Engineering Mechanics professors — Riccardo Bonazza, Curt Bronkhorst, Wendy Crone, Jennifer Franck, Roderic Lakes, Jacob Notbohm, Ramathasan Thevamaran, and Fabian Waleffe — have joined the faculty of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, effective January 1, 2023. The Engineering Mechanics educational programs will then officially move to Mechanical Engineering after review and approval by relevant campus committees. 

There should be minimal short-term effects of this change on current students. The same range of engineering mechanics courses will continue to be offered. There are long-term benefits to students as the move will enable us to expand and strengthen mechanics-related research and educational activities within the department. Further, both mechanical engineering and engineering mechanics students will have access to the full range of staff support, resources, and opportunities available through the Department of Mechanical Engineering.  

As Chair of the Department, I am optimistic about this change for the future of Engineering Mechanics! If you have questions, comments or concerns about this move, please reach out to me at

We will be hosting a virtual town hall session at 12:00 PM (CST) on January 31, 2023. Please register in advance and feel free to submit any questions regarding the transition.

Darryl Thelen
John Bollinger Chair of Mechanical Engineering
Bernard A. and Frances M. Weideman Professor