Skip to main content
January 24, 2019

Hermans honored by American Chemical Society

Written By: Sam Million-Weaver


The American Chemical Society awarded the 2019 Ipatieff Prize to Ive Hermans, the John and Dorothy Vozza Professor of chemistry and an affiliate of chemical and biological engineering. Hermans received the award in recognition of his innovative research on catalytic oxidations, and the contributions he has made to industrial chemistry. In particular, his work helped contribute to sustainable production pathways for important chemicals like alkenes, epoxides, and alcohols. Amidst all his contributions to the field, however, Hermans is most proud to have mentored numerous talented students, many of whom have gone on to their own successful careers in academia and industry.