Skip to main content
July 25, 2017

Three chemical engineers receive national awards

Written By: Silke Schmidt


Harvey SpanglerIn July 2017, three faculty members in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering were notified of their selection for national awards from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE). AIChE is the world’s leading organization for chemical engineering professionals, with more than 50,000 members from over 100 countries.

Harvey Spangler Professor George Huber received the 2017 Allan P. Colburn Award for Excellence in Publications. This award is presented to a younger member of AIChE, who received their highest academic degree within the last 12 years, and honors significant contributions to chemical engineering through research publications.William Banholzer

Research professor William (Bill) Banholzer, who joined UW-Madison in 2013 after a 30-year career in the chemical industry, received the 2017 Founders Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Field of Chemical Engineering. The award recognizes Banholzer’s broad impact on chemical engineering and his long and distinguished record of service to the profession, including both technical and professional activities.

James RawlingsSteenbock Professor and W. Harmon Ray Professor James (Jim) Rawlings received the 2017 William Walker Award for Excellence in Contributions to Chemical Engineering Literature. The award recognizes Rawlings’ seminal contributions in the areas of control theory and applications and chemical reaction engineering.

The awards will be presented to the three recipients at a ceremony in Minneapolis on Oct. 29, 2017, as part of the annual AIChE meeting.