Skip to main content
James Dumesic, Kevin Eliceiri, Mikhail Kats, Zongfu Yu
November 17, 2023

Four engineering faculty among highly cited researchers

Four faculty members in the University of Wisconsin—Madison College of Engineering are among the scientists selected for the Clarivate Web of Science Highly Cited Researchers list for 2023. The honorees include Kevin Eliceiri, the RRF Walter H. Helmerich Professor in biomedical engineering, Zongfu Yu, a professor of electrical and computer engineering, Mikhail Kats, the Jack St. Clair Kilby Associate Professor and Antoine-Bascom Associate Professor in electrical and computer engineering, and James Dumesic, professor emeritus in chemical and biological engineering.

In total, 7,125 researchers from 1,300 institutions in 67 countries are included on the list for significant influence in specific fields or impact across several fields. To determine the 2023 honorees, the Web of Science analyzed papers published over the last decade, determining which authors ranked in the top 1% of cited papers.

This year, the list included new elements to safeguard research integrity, including enhanced qualitative filters used to identify publication anomalies including extreme levels of hyper-authorship, excessive self-citation or unusual patterns of group citation activity.

Eliceiri was selected in the field of biology and biochemistry while Dumesic, Yu and Kats were included for their cross-disciplinary influence.

“We celebrate the Highly Cited Researchers whose contributions transform our world by helping to make it healthier, more sustainable and more secure,” Bar Veinstein, president of academia and government at Clarivate says. “Recognition of Highly Cited Researchers not only validates research excellence but also enhances reputation, fosters collaboration, and informs resource allocation, acting as a beacon for academic institutions and commercial organizations.”

In total, 18 researchers from across the University of Wisconsin-Madison appear on the 2023 Highly-Cited honor roll.

Image caption: From left: James Dumesic, Kevin Eliceiri, Mikhail Kats, and Zongfu Yu.