Skip to main content
October 13, 2017

ECE grad students receive energy-society scholarships

Written By: Renee Meiller

The Directed Energy Professional Society has awarded two PhD students in electrical and computer engineering $10,000 scholarships for the 2017-2018 year. In addition to their award, the students—Ray Wambold and Patrick Forbes—will participate in the society’s education workshop during its annual symposium in February 2018. Wambold is a second-year PhD student in ECE faculty member Mikhail Kats’ group; under Kats, he is working on a monolithic semiconductor platform for directing and reshaping infrared light. The technology may have applications for directed energy and countermeasures. Forbes’ advisors are ECE faculty members John Booske and Nader Behdad; his research centers around how metamaterials can be used in high-power microwave amplifiers to enhance gain and suppress unwanted backward wave gain and oscillation.