Skip to main content

Electrical & Computer Engineering Faculty Awards and Recognition

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Fellow

Nader Behdad (2017) – for contributions to sub-wavelength electromagnetic periodic structures

John Booske* (2008) – for contributions to vacuum electronics and microwave processing of materials

Dan Botez (1986) – for leadership in the development of high-power semiconductor lasers

Susan Hagness (2009) – for contributions to time-domain computational electromagnetics and microwave medical imaging

Yu Hen Hu (1999) – for contributions to design and implementation of signal processing algorithms

Thomas Jahns* (1993) – For contributions to the development of high-performance adjustable-speed drives for industrial and aerospace applications

Hongrui Jiang (2017) – for contributions to materials and micro-scale optical tools for medical imaging

Bernard Lesieutre (2023) – for contributions to electric power system dynamic modeling, simulation and power engineering education

Mikko Lipasti (2013) – for contributions to the microarchitecture and design of high-performance microprocessors and computer systems

Zhenqiang Ma (2018) – for contributions to flexile and biodegradable microwave electronics

Luke Mawst (2011) – for contributions to the development of high-power designs and new material systems for semiconductor diode lasers

Rob Nowak (2010) – for contributions to statistical signal and image processing

Parmesh Ramanathan (2009) – for contributions to real-time systems and networks

Bulent Sarlioglu (2022) – for applications of electrical drives in the aerospace industry

Daniel van der Weide (2022) – for contributions to ultrafast terahertz electronics and biomedical applications of microwave technologies

Barry Van Veen* (2002) – for contributions to the development of subspace signal processing algorithms

Giri Venkataramanan (2024) – for contributions to control of energy resources in microgrids

American Physical Society Fellow

John Booske* (2011) – For pioneering contributions to the development of coherent radiation sources in the submillimeter wave and terahertz regime, in particular in the physics of sheet electron beams, advanced cathode, and interaction of high power microwave with materials

Zhenqiang Ma (2017) – for seminal contribution to the development of flexible high speed devices, microwave device technology, optoelectronics, and the innovation in the area of biodegradable environmentally benign devices

Optical Society of America Fellow

Dan Botez (1995)

Zhenqiang Ma (2018)

Zongfu Yu (2020)

American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering Fellow

Susan Hagness (2022)

Hongrui Jiang (2016)

Zhenqiang Ma (2018)

American Association for Advancement of Science Fellow

John Booske* (2023)

Susan Hagness (2022)

Zhenqiang Ma (2017)

Institute of Physics Fellow

John Booske* (2022)

International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE) Fellow

Zhenqiang Ma (2020)

National Academy of Inventors Fellow

Susan Hagness (2022)

Zhenqiang Ma (2017)

Bulent Sarlioglu (2021)

National Academy of Engineering Member

Vladimir Blasko – Adjunct Professor (2023)

Hao Huang – Adjunct Professor (2021)

Thomas Jahns* (2015)

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)

Susan Hagness (2000)

Zhenqiang Ma (2008)

Daniel van der Weide (1997)

NSF CAREER (and Young Investigator) Award

Nader Behdad (2011)

Jennifer Choy (2024)

Azadeh Davoodi (2011)

Kassem Fawaz (2020)

Dominic Gross (2022)

Susan Hagness (2000)

Hongrui Jiang (2008)

Mikhail Kats (2018)

Younghyun Kim (2019)

Irena Knezevic (2006)

Bhuvana Krishnaswamy (2022)

Kangwook Lee (2024)

Mikko Lipasti (2001)

Daniel Ludois (2015)

Chu Ma (2023)

Luke Mawst (1998)

Rob Nowak (1999)

Umit Yusuf Ogras (2017)

Dimitris Papailiopoulos (2019)

Shubhra Pasayat (2024)

Line Roald (2021)

Joshua San Miguel (2021)

Bulent Sarlioglu (2016)

Daniel van der Weide (1997)

Andreas Velten (2019)

Giri Venkataramanan (1993)

Ramya Korlakai Vinayak (2023)

Ying Wang (2024)

Zongfu Yu (2018)

Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR) Young Investigator

Nader Behdad (2011)

Mikhail Kats (2017)

Irena Knezevic (2009)

Andreas Velten (2015)

Army Research Office (ARO) Young Investigator

Rob Nowak (1999)

Hongrui Jiang (2007)

Zhenqiang Ma (2007)

Umit Yusuf Ogras (2018)

Zongfu Yu (2017)

Department of Energy (DoE) Early Career Award

Ying Wang (2023)

Office of Naval Research (ONR) Young Investigator

Nader Behdad (2011)

Mikhail Kats (2016)

Rob Nowak (2000)

Daniel van der Weide (1998)

Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation – Moore Inventor Fellow

Daniel Ludois (2017)

IEEE Education Society Mac E. Van Valkenburg Early Career Teaching Award

Susan Hagness (2007) – for demonstrating the benefits of a holistic approach to engineering education that emphasizes the human impact of the subject matter with a multifaceted teaching strategy to engage the whole student

Dimitris Papailiopoulos (2021) – for dedication to teaching excellence, focus on student-centered learning success, and championing of active learning strategies in both his own teaching and among colleagues

IEEE Nanotechnology Council Early Career Award

Mikhail Kats (2020) – for outstanding technical innovations and achievement in nanophotonics, especially for optical metasurfaces, light interaction with nanoscale films, and tunable nanomaterials

IEEE Photonics Society Young Investigator Award

Mikhail Kats (2020) – for contributions in the fields of nanophotonics and optical materials, especially for metasurfaces, optics with phase-transition materials, and thermal-emission engineering”

IEEE Power and Energy Society Cyril Veinott Electromechanical Energy Award

Bulent Sarlioglu (2021) – for contributions to the design, development, and manufacturing of electric motors and drives for industrial and aerospace applications

Intel Outstanding Researcher Award

Umit Yusuf Ogras (2022)

Korean-American Scientists and Engineers Association (KASEA) Young Investigator

Kangwook Lee (2022)

Nagamori Foundation Grand Nagamori Award

Bulent Sarlioglu (2018)

Privacy Enhancing Technologies Advisory Board Caspar Bowden Award for Outstanding Research in Privacy Enhancing Technologies

Kassem Fawaz (2019)

*Denotes Emeritus Status