Skip to main content
Pictured from left to right: Padma Gopalan, Darryl Thelen, associate dean for Research and Graduate Affairs in the College of Engineering, Michael Arnold, Katherine Jinkins, and WARF Licensing Manager Scott Pollyea. Submitted photo.
November 20, 2017

Arnold and Gopalan team named WARF Innovation Award finalists

Written By: Staff

Materials Science and Engineering Professors Michael Arnold and Padma Gopalan, along with graduate students Katherine Jinkins and Gerald Brady, were honored as finalists at the 2017 WARF Innovation Awards.

The team is developing the first scalable process for creating highly aligned arrays of carbon nanotubes for practical implementation in semiconductor devices. This work has applications in the area of thin film transistors – from monitors and mobile devices to biomedical sensors.

The finalists were drawn from approximately 380 invention disclosures submitted to WARF over the past 12 months. Criteria include potential long-term impact and broad benefits for humankind.

The Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation (WARF) is the independent, nonprofit organization that works to protect and commercialize campus discoveries. It is proud to partner with the College of Engineering in support of visionary research.