Skip to main content
Aerial photo of College of Engineering campus
April 5, 2018

Eight engineering students win NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

Written By: Staff

Five undergraduate students and three PhD candidates from the University of Wisconsin-Madison College of Engineering have received National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship awards. The eight recipients are:

• Kiersten Haffey (undergraduate, biomedical engineering)
• Emily Jewell (undergraduate, engineering mechanics)
• Hunter Johnson (undergraduate, biomedical engineering)
• Taylor McKenna Marohl (undergraduate, biomedical engineering)
• Elise Penn (undergraduate, geological engineering)
• Benjamin Gastfriend (PhD, chemical engineering)
• Audrey Evans (PhD, electrical engineering)
• Curran Gahan (PhD, chemical engineering)

Two college alumni also received fellowships: Lauren Abrahams (geological engineering) and Kristen Lemke (chemical engineering).

The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program recruits high-potential scientists and engineers and supports their graduate research training in STEM fields. Fellows receive three years of financial support through a $34,000 annual stipend and $12,000 education allowance. More than 12,000 students from across the United States applied, with 2,000 receiving awards.