Skip to main content
May 1, 2017

15 power engineers honored for academic, research excellence

Written By: Renee Meiller

At an April 10, 2017, banquet, 11 undergraduate and four graduate students received prestigious Grainger Power Engineering Awards, which recognize their outstanding performance in the classroom or in research in the field of power engineering. The undergraduate scholarship and graduate fellowship provide substantial financial support to each recipient.

Electrical engineering alumnus David Grainger (BS ’50) established the award program two decades ago through funding from The Grainger Foundation.

The 2017 recipients include undergraduates Joel Cruvant, Jake Cummins, Thomas Cunniff, Nicholas Dunn, Daniel Eckerson, Jonathan Herzog, Gabriel Kinzer, Andrew Lueneburg, Samuel Mattison, Matthew Smuda and Jay Zoborowski, and graduate-level engineers Kevin Frankforter, Philip Hart, Ryan Knippel and Michael Rios.